Eating a little crow on Thanksgiving

Not exactly the bird I wanted today

Earlier in the week I posted about my encounter with an Internet Troll via email and how I handled him. This post needs a little follow-up.

To be clear, while I somewhat enjoyed engaging in a semantic argument with the superior asshole and not indulging him, I probably should have indulged him. It just wasn’t great customer service, and it has come back to bite me in the ass. The Troll forwarded our email conversation to a property owner and I have since been chastised by my boss, and the owner is making efforts to try to recover his business.

While it felt great at the time to respond to him the way I did, it was a mistake. Not just because I poked the bear and got in trouble for it, but because as a manager in this business I have to represent the interests and reputation of the property owners and not my own all the time. If I was the owner of this property my response still would have been horrible customer service, but at least then it would have been my place to make that decision. To be honest, I might have responded the same way if this was my hotel. But it’s not, and I knew as soon as I hit the send button on that email that it was probably a huge mistake, and I should have known that it wouldn’t end there. Of course it didn’t.

In customer service it just doesn’t pay to respond to superior assholes in kind. No matter how good it might feel in the moment.

People always say, don’t respond to emails or texts angry. I think I’ll listen to those people next time.

You win this round Internet Trolls.

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by darkcargo on November 24, 2011 - 1:08 PM

    Boo. I hate these situations. We’ve all had to eat some of that crow, I think. I learned the hard way to wait 24 hours.

    • #2 by hotelnerd on November 24, 2011 - 1:13 PM

      I think if I had even waited 2 hours I probably would have thought better of it. Oh well. Not the end of the world. Horrible thing to do right before Holiday Bonus Checks though :-/

  2. #3 by The Hook on December 2, 2011 - 11:04 AM

    Keep fighting the good fight, you crazy nerd! Awesome graphic!

    • #4 by hotelnerd on December 2, 2011 - 5:33 PM

      I love Google Image search!

  3. #5 by confessionshotelmanager on December 5, 2011 - 4:44 PM

    I’ve had those moments. I’ve been put on probation for it. I’m learning though, take a deep breath, and (hopefully) the guest isn’t standing in front of you, so you have a chance to calm down and form a response that is in the best interest of the business. But still work in a little snarkiness.

    • #6 by hotelnerd on December 7, 2011 - 5:02 PM

      I think things would have happened a lot different if I had just waited a day to respond. But seriously, quoting to Dictionary.com in an email like that? Unnecessary.

Leave a Reply

