A little on the nerdy side…

It’s time for a few nerdy updates from me.

What I’m Reading

When Skrulls invade, who can you trust?

Secret Invasion: I’m more than half way through Marvel’s Secret Invasion event and still enjoying it despite the length of the event. Most of the art throughout the event has been superb, and the storytelling suitably epic. The paranoia among our heroes caused by a race of super powerful shape shifting aliens infiltrating their ranks has kept the entire event tense, more so than Civil War did. There’s not really an ideological struggle going on, like in Civil War, a struggle which got old real fast no matter which side of the argument you come down on. Secret Invasion is just a good old super power slug fest against an enemy that obviously deserves it.

What I’m Watching

Immortals: I just got back from seeing Immortals today with a friend. I wasn’t super eager to see it, but it was a good way to spend sometime this afternoon. The movie was far better than I was expecting. The battles were gigantic, and the individual action scenes were masterfully choreographed, better than 300. I especially enjoyed the distinct difference we saw between the Gods & Titans fighting and the battles between mortals. Mortal combat was ultimately a brutal and no frills slug fest. However, watching the Immortals in combat was like watching some kind of dance, they were still gruesomely violent, but always graceful and smooth. The story was compelling enough, if incredibly predictable.

The X-Files: I didn’t watch The X-Files when it was first on TV, but the fiancée and I have been watching it on Netflix starting at episode 1 and moving forward. We’re only about 7 episodes into the first season, but it hasn’t failed to live up to expectations. It’s filled with rich gooey Sci-Fi goodness, and while at times it shows its age in technology and fashion, the storytelling still holds up.

Grimm: Grimm is holding in there as one of my must watch weekly shows. The overall mythology of the show continues to grow with each episode. I’m enjoying the tension between our hero being a monster hunting Grimm and a police officer sworn to uphold the law and the way that those two aspects of the character come into conflict. I haven’t gone out onto the internet to check the ratings, but I’m hopeful that it’s doing well enough, it has a horrible time slot for a new show, but a pretty good lead in with Chuck.

Preparing for a very fond goodbye

Chuck: Speaking of Chuck. It was announced last year when the show was renewed that this would be the final season of Chuck. I’m not horribly torn up by that fact, the show has always been on the bubble one pen stroke away from cancellation. I’ve been prepared for this show to end for a while, but I am enjoying the last season. It’s suitable that this season Chuck gets to prove his mettle by functioning as a world-class spy without the intersect in his head. Ultimately, I’m very glad that the network has given this show a chance to wrap up clean.

What I’m Drooling Over

Motorola Droid Razr: I’m not due for an upgrade until January, and even with 2 year pricing this phone will likely be out of my price range unless there is a significant price cut after the holidays. All that said, I WANT THIS PHONE. Which is a weird thing for me to say with such conviction. I remember the last Razr phone. I never owned one, but given what I heard from everyone I knew that owned one, that was a good thing. It was a super popular design that flopped on technological delivery in almost every way. I’m more hopeful about this version of the Razr though, and I’m looking forward to reading some actual reviews after it has launched and had sometime to get banged around by other people.

Hotness Links

Ouch! That Burns!

COED Magazine has a slide show of The 45 Sexiest Pics of Scarlett Johansson for Her 27th Birthday on their site.This is one of my favorites from the set though. When I was at Immortals earlier today I saw the latest Avengers trailer. I’d be lying if I said Black Widow has become one of my favorite heroes just because Scarlett Johnasson plays her on the silver screen.

Ugo.com posted this awhile ago See Wonder Woman Get A Lap Dance From The Chick From Entourage, but it’s just two awesome to not mention if I’m listing off hotness that makes me need a drool bib. I’ll be seeing this movie eventually.

Also an older post from Ugo.com is their list of Hottest Sci-Fi Girls. I was thinking of putting together a similar list myself, if for no other reason than the research would be incredibly fun.

, , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by The Hook on December 2, 2011 - 11:08 AM

    Oh my lord, the nerdy cool factor is off the charts on this post!
    Fantastic work – Secret Invasion goodness, coll TV shows, SMOKIN’ HOT chicks, what more could anyone ask for?
    AWESOME POST!!!!!

    • #2 by hotelnerd on December 2, 2011 - 5:32 PM

      I do what I can 😀 Telling myself I can hunt down some pictures of hotness to add to my post always gives me a little more motivation to sit down and write a post.

Leave a Reply

