New TV Show Review – Grimm

When I saw the trailers for “Grimm” earlier this fall I knew it pretty much looked like exactly my kind of show. They practically had me at “From the producers of Buffy and Angel” granted this isn’t a Joss show, but David Greenwalt was heavily involved in both shows along with a number of other series that I’m quite fond of. I’ve only recently started paying attention to the names of writers and producers of my favorite shows, but his was a name I recognized almost immediately. Add to all that, in its framework “Grimm” is a “police procedural” too, and who does police procedural better than NBC? Law & Order anyone? Anyone? Bueller? Bueller? And I swear if you say CSI or NCIS I will stab you in the face! I’m not very fond of those shows…

Anyways, I was a little bit surprised when the fiancée and I were skimming through our DVR and she asked me to stop on “Grimm”. She read the description of the pilot and said “That sounds interesting. Let’s watch that.” I was a bit incredulous to be honest. I’ve grown a pretty good sense for the shows of “mine” that she’ll enjoy and those she won’t. Knowing a bit more about this series then her, I was pretty sure she wouldn’t, but at the same time I really wanted to watch it. So I hit play and we were off to the races! End result, she didn’t like it, and I enjoy it quite a bit.

A Brief Synopsis: Set in present-day Portland Oregon, the series puts a new twist on the stories of the Brothers Grimm in which a homicide detective, Nick Burkhardt, learns that he is a descendent of a group of hunters known as “Grimms”, who fight to keep humanity safe from the supernatural creatures of the world. Nick’s destiny is to protect every living soul from the sinister storybook characters that live side by side with the rest of us in the normal world. They live concealed by magic and practice, and only the Grimms can see through their camouflage. Not all of the creatures are bad though, some have left behind their monstrous heritage and have integrated with humanity. While others cling to their heritage and continue to pray on humanity. These creatures tell bedtime stories to their spawn of the Grimms where the Grimms are the monsters not them. Nick quickly learns that he has to weed out the good ones from the bad ones.

I wasn’t hooked from the very first instant, but by the end of the pilot I was pretty excited. There is the beginnings of what could be a mythology and back story just as rich and wonderful as Buffy tied together with really neat little re-imaginings of old fairy tales. The first two episodes relied heavily on fairy tales that we’re all familiar with, Little Red Riding Hood and Goldilocks and the Three Bears. I know that Goldilocks isn’t a Grimm tale, but whatever, that’s not really important. The entire premise of the show is that all fairy tales are somehow grounded in the reality of this world. They’ve just been jumbled over the years, and humanity has forgotten the truth within them. My one point of concern as I write this post, is that Grimm will start to run out of fairy tales if all their going to do is re-imagine them in their setting. Those stories are going to have to become the little one-off stories that get folded into each season along with episodes that deal mostly with an over all arc and the show’s greater mythology. A lot like Buffy and Angel did quite successfully. I think if the corporate higher-ups and Network Execs don’t get in the way of their creative team that they’ll be able to do just that. We’ll see. I was fairly disappointed with several of NBC’s new shows last season, fortunately they were also rather ruthless in cutting the under performers. Grimm is kind of high concept for a major network though, and I hope they give it a chance, because after only 2 episodes I have more confidence in this show then I did after 2 episodes of The Cape last season.

Although thinking of The Cape does make me wish they had a Summer Glau or similar hotness on the cast of Grimm. They’re somewhat lacking in that department.And now I feel obliged to post an obligatory picture of Summer Glau looking amazing. Add someone like this to the cast and you just might seal the deal Grimm.

A little more of this please....

But maybe not Summer, her shows keep getting killed far too soon. No matter how good they are. I hear Yvonne Strahovski is going to be unemployed soon (I’m going to miss Chuck) maybe she can sign on? She’s already working for NBC too. Brilliant!

Just right....

Let’s face it sexy sells, and Grimm needs just a little more sexy on the screen. Joss always knew that one.

I’m not going to try to boil this show down into a numerical score or letter grade. I think it’s too soon to really do that. I would recommend this show to most people who are fans of shows with good writing, solid acting, and are willing to suspend their disbelief. If you’re a fan of the fantasy genre, especially the “urban fantasy” genre then I would highly recommend this show. If you’re a fan on The Dresden Files by Jim Butcher, then give it a try. If those last 3 sentences didn’t really apply to you, then go ahead and skip it. I’ll keep tuning in, and my fingers are crossed that by the end of this season this show will be at the top of my must watch list.

, , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

