Movie Review: Transformers 3: Dark of the Moon

I know, this isn’t exactly a new release. I don’t get to the theater nearly as much as I would like. And honestly after the let down of Transformers 2, I wasn’t in a huge rush to see this movie. I must say this, I think even though I saw this movie in 2D being shot for 3D helped this movie. In the previous Transformers movies it was a struggle to decode all the fancy CGI on the screen. So much of it just looked so foreign and alien to the human eye that it made the previous 2 movies a little mind-boggling when the heavy actions scenes came up, and not in a good way. Ultimately, this movie was everything I expected it to be and I wasn’t really disappointed watching it, I even enjoyed parts of it. I mean anyone that goes into these movies with super high expectations is just begging for disappointment. There’s a very simple check list I use for evaluating big action movies like this, and specifically this franchise.

  • Were there robots that transformed into shit? CHECK
  • Were there lots of explosions? CHECK
  • Did the plot just barely make sense in a convoluted sort of way? CHECK
  • Were there amazingly hot women? CHECK

I mean what else are you really looking for? The original cartoons aren’t exactly masterpieces of storytelling. They were merchandising machines designed to sell a whole shit load of toys. They always did that VERY WELL. The movies aren’t really meant to do much more than that.

A favorite part of the movie was hearing Leonard Nimoy’s voice as a villain say “The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few.” He just needed to add “…or the one” and the line would have been perfect.

Rosie

Rosie Huntington-Whiteley

Here’s ultimately how I rate this movie, was Rosie Huntington-Whiteley hotter than Megan Fox? The answer to this question has always been fairly easy for me. NO. Megan Fox still holds the crown and I don’t care what FHM’s Hot 100 list this year says! I know I might be in the minority in this opinion, but for me Megan Fox > Rosie Huntington-Whitely. It’s just that simple for me. And I really wish she hadn’t gotten herself fired off the 3rd movie. Not saying she’s smarter, but my vote is sexier hands down. That isn’t to say Rosie didn’t earn herself a place on my Top 10, I think she probably did (damn I love a British accent), but Megan is still my champion, and so this movie can’t really be “the best Transformers” of all time. Not without her sizzling up my screen.

Megan Fox

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by HoaiPhai on October 20, 2011 - 1:17 AM

    Tough call on who’s hotter… I’d hate to make a choice and offend the other on the off-chance she likes pudgy, bald, middle-aged guys!

    • #2 by hotelnerd on October 20, 2011 - 3:29 PM

      Yes, the conflict is entirely academic for both of us, and most of the world really.

Leave a Reply

