Hotel Blog – OPUS Hotel

So I think I might be in love. I went Googling for other hotel related blogs this evening and came across the blog of OPUS Hotel in Montreal. Most of the posts I’ve read are by their General Manager. It’s an absolutely great read. Sure it has some PR and Buzz pieces about stuff going on at the hotel. A business blog like this is first and foremost a PR tool. But it also has a lot of personality and soul to it, and it’s not just a PR tool. Although I’m sure it helps their SEO quite a bit. Their GM is very well spoken/written, has good stories to share, and like me, tries to offer some educational type tidbits to people outside the industry (namely travelers). It’s a great blog, and I highly recommend it after only about an hour of cruising posts.

It was funny, in one post he even talks about how a Professor at my University, in my program (Hotel Management), assigns this blog as required reading. That must have been after my time there, but judging by the post date, maybe just barely. I don’t remember that assignment…of course I tended to skim text books for what it’s worth.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by HoaiPhai on September 25, 2011 - 12:59 AM

    Interesting read! The Opus is in a strange location for out-of-towners… it’s close to everything but the immediate surroundings are not exactly picturesque, but they are very Montrealish. I like the new theme, by the way.

    • #2 by hotelnerd on September 25, 2011 - 9:37 AM

      I’d really love to stay there sometime. I did a brief internship for a W Hotel, and it was a little “too hip” for me to work there. I think the OPUS might be too hip for me to work there, but I would really love to see it and stay there sometime.

Leave a Reply

