Upgrade

This morning my 6 month project to upgrade our credit card processing system and our Hotel PMS software (Property Management System) comes to completion (hopefully). The PMS is essentially the hotel’s nervous system, without it we really have very little idea what’s going on around us. It’s been an incredibly long and bumpy project. You’d think you could just call up the vendor and say “Hey, I want this software. Here is some money please install it. Thanks.” Nope it’s really not, especially when said new software interfaces with credit card processing in a way that we had never done before at my property. The new version should really be a great step forward, and it will be an interesting challenge to “kick it old school” and run the Hotel office on essentially pen and paper for 6 hours. Anyways, AutoClerk Version 8 here we come! See you later Version 6 and thanks for all the fish!

In other New Stuff news for me. I finally got myself a new computer monitor at home. The old one has been slowly dying for over a year now, so I finally broke down and went to buy one yesterday. I probably could have gotten a slightly better deal if I had bought online and waited for shipping, but I got to hang out with one of my friends in the process of going shopping for it and his almost 2 year old daughter who I hadn’t seen in about a year and a half. I’ve known the guy since we were in kindergarten, but really had very little idea what kind of parent he was going to be when his girlfriend first got pregnant. Fun fact, my fiancee and I actually met at the baby shower for his daughter. Anyways, he’s really turned out to be an amazing dad, and I hope I’m able to measure up when that time finally comes around. All in all it was a pretty great way to spend the afternoon. And the new monitor is just so damn pretty…it’s part of the reason I sat down to actually write a blog post. That and I had been meaning to do so for several days now.

Have a great day everyone.

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by HoaiPhai on August 19, 2011 - 7:12 AM

    Ahh, new toys! It always seems a little more exciting for a while when you get something new. Did you pick up a huge monitor? The prices have come down so much… you can now get an Acer 23″ for what I paid for my Samsung 17″ just a few years ago.

    • #2 by hotelnerd on August 19, 2011 - 7:54 AM

      Dude, stop breaking in to my place! How did you know what monitor I got!?

      • #3 by HoaiPhai on August 19, 2011 - 8:03 AM

        He-he… I’ve been debating whether to pick one of them up, to get a new motherboard/chip/RAM set-up for the old computer, or some more bling for my camera for the annual combo anniversary/birthday/Christmas gift from my wife and Santa.

      • #4 by hotelnerd on August 19, 2011 - 9:01 AM

        Yeah, my old monitor was on it’s last legs. I finally had the cash and broke down and bought it. Very happy with it so far.

Leave a Reply

