My Cafe Press Shop

So I had almost forgotten that over a year ago I set up a Cafe Press Shop with some Nerd shirt designs I had thought up. OK so I had totally forgotten until I got an email this morning informing that my shop had sold something. For the first time. EVER. That was kinda cool. Cafe Press was super fun to use, a great way to express your creativity and sometimes earn a couple dollars, but I never really got around to setting up all the SEO and meta-data type stuff so that the shop would really work well. That was of course before I had this blog. I figure I should at least link the two together now. And maybe I’ll get around to it, because really, if I could get some shirts to sell, it might be a fun little chunk of change. I’m not schilling for my readers to go buy stuff to “support this blog”, I don’t think I’ve earned that quite yet. However, if you like nerdy shirts (mostly D&D related) then you might find something you like, in which case the shirts are there if you want one. I think I also set them up as buttons and bumper stickers and stuff, so there are a couple of options at different price points.

Anyways, here’s the link: Kaos Wizard’s Swag

I’ll probably make a separate “Page” for it on the main blog too, just so it’s easy to reference back to.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by HoaiPhai on August 11, 2011 - 12:49 PM

    Very cool! Did you research which company would give you the biggest cut of the take? What made you decide to go with Cafe Press? I’ve been toying with the idea of either something like this or trying to get a major stock photo company to carry some of my photos.

    • #2 by hotelnerd on August 11, 2011 - 12:55 PM

      I didn’t look around too much, because no one else really has a model like CafePress, at least not at the time I was setting this up. Wil Wheaton talked about them a lot on his blog. The amount of the “take” that I get is pretty much set by me, they tell me what their base price is for the product (t-shirt, tote bag, buttons etc) and printing them, and I set my “mark up” on top of that. The mark up is my profit, I’ve set the mark up pretty low, the hope was that quantity would have a quality all it’s own. The trick is, that if you really want to get some money out of it, you have to do marketing yourself. You’ll show up in the CafePress shop, but it’s a market flooded with designs, and you really have to make something awesome for it to stand out in that market, or you have to find other ways of driving traffic to your shop. I never really dove in on it that hard, the actual process of designing the shirts and getting them loaded as products tapped my brain and patience back then, and I always meant to come back to it, but life got int the way.

      • #3 by HoaiPhai on August 11, 2011 - 10:31 PM

        Your graphic is great (I checked it out)! People I know tell me I should sell my photos but, frankly, I was born without an ambition gland. I have a couple of shots on the wall of a major NOTL hotel, and one of them I don’t even like but they wanted it, so they got it. It would be great if there were mentors or a governent talent developement agency to help people like us out with these kinds of things.

      • #4 by hotelnerd on August 12, 2011 - 8:13 AM

        Thanks. I did what I could with Photoshop, I have trouble making what I see in my head come out graphically. I wish I could draw and just scan stuff in really.

        CafePress might be a great way to put some of your art out there. Bookify might also be a great avenue if you want to self publish a photo book. Their tools are easy to use, and they’re print-on-demand just like CafePress, their prices are reasonable and they let you set up a shop with your own mark up selected. I’ve used them for a project at work and the final product was great.

Leave a Reply

