Well hello Monday. We meet at last…

Mondays are my Fridays. I think I mentioned that before. Meaning I have the next 2 days off after I finally get off work tonight. Other managers had vacation requests to cover, so I ended up having a 6 day work week this week, and it’s dragging on me a little. Meaning I’m looking forward to my afternoon of video game playing tomorrow even more. And of course, finishing Ghost Story. I breezed through the first 50% over my last weekend, but I just don’t get much of a chance to read during the week. I’ve got about 25% left though, and I’ve stopped shaking with anticipation as I try to read which really speeds up the process. The book hasn’t gotten any less intense, I’ve just settled in for the ride finally.

D&D night is also this Tuesday which since I don’t play weekly anymore, just every other week, I look forward to tremendously. Our gaming group is actually large enough that we had to break into two separate groups on alternating weeks, and over half the time our main DM is the DM for both tables. And he don’t double dip into the writing, he does entirely separate campaigns for both nights, although he does recycle old campaigns periodically. Which is kind of fun even for those of us that haven’t been in the group the whole time and played those games before. It’s kinda cool to know that the campaign he’s running has a history and a past to it, and that the story has been essentially drafted and redrafted multiple times, refining and improving it each time.

The last few days at work have been pretty smooth all things told. After Friday everything just seems like a cakewalk. And today brought unforeseen but possibly very awesome career considerations my way. I don’t want to jinx anything by posting in more detail then that, because it is still in a very speculative and hypothetical sphere, but if nothing else I’m taking what has come up as a tremendous compliment.

I’m most of the way through the audiobook for Clash of Kings, the sequel to Game of Thrones. I’ve enjoyed it over all. The world that Martin has created is just so rich and thorough, and world building is a particular aspect that I’ve always enjoyed when trying to write fantasy, sci-fi, and D&D campaigns myself. However, I feel a little more disconnected from this book then the first, and I’m not entirely sure why. Part of it could certainly be, that I don’t have the TV series playing in the back of my mind as I listen. I don’t think that’s entirely it, the story just seems more disjointed. The author switches character perspective every chapter generally because the story is so vast and taking place in so many different places around the world. The cast of characters has grown, the scope of the story has grown, and as a result much more time goes by between each character’s POV and the continuation of the their part of the story. That process makes it so that I can’t get attached to any particular character and slows down what little action there is. I’m not saying it’s a bad book, but I don’t know if I would have the patience to get through it if I was actually reading each page, and not having it read to me as I drive. And all that said, after the amazing job they did with the first season of the show, I can very much see how this book will translate perfectly into the medium, so long as HBO gives them the budget to produce it as faithfully as the first. I love that the development and continual improvement of CGI has made it possible for such shows to exist. And that HBO can throw boobs around on TV willy-nilly.

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by HoaiPhai on August 1, 2011 - 11:56 PM

    Ahh, the odd days off. Mine are Thursdays and Fridays. I have a piano to fix, have to buy some more ink for the printer, and do some creative cooking (and eating). Have fun!

  2. #2 by The Hook on August 2, 2011 - 4:57 AM

    I recently read that his fans were pissed with the author for not publishing a new book in a while.
    I know a lot of people who love the tv series, though.

Leave a Reply

