Netflix again…

Alright, so I’m still intrigued by the Netflix firestorm, and I wanted to share these two articles I came across during a break today.

Why Netflix Raised Its Price – on Yahoo. This one was nice because the author was able to actually speak with a Netflix spokesman, versus most of what I’ve seen out there, and most of what I’ve written which has just been pure conjecture. According to the spokesman, some of my conjecture is right, and some of it missed the mark. I think it’s significant that Netflix admits that they foresaw the backlash that arose, the decreased membership, and are still happy with their financial forecasts. This was not a spontaneous decision on their part.

And then this article was referenced in the first, but I just wanted to share it separately, because it seemed to warrant it. Netflix Alternatives: Other Places You Can Get Streaming Media, DVD Rentals – from PC World. I like this one, because it proves part of my argument right, that even with the price increase Netflix is still the better deal for most people.

  1. #1 by HoaiPhai on July 17, 2011 - 11:51 PM

    Thanks for the leads…I’ll be checking them out.

Leave a Reply

