The Night Shift

Hello there bloggity type people! Yup, been a long time. The last two months have just been a flurry of changes and activity that has shattered my fledgling blogging habit. My apologies. So let’s get caught up! This Thursday will be the end of my fourth week at my new job. This last four weeks also involved a pretty major move too a much bigger house. We’re still renters but it still feels very grown up for us.

The new job has been amazing. The first week was a little terrifying. The difference from my last property to my new one is like a minor league ball player getting moved up to the big leagues. I felt a little like I was on an episode of Sliders and I had just slid onto an alternate world. This world looks like my home dimension in most every respect, but there are tinny subtle but sometimes mind bending differences.

The differences from a 41 room independent boutique resort in the country to a 600 room luxury major brand city hotel are enormous, but absolutely what I was looking for. The commute for the first week, before we moved, was a hellish 2 hours on top of the mental strain of all the new information I had to absorb. Since moving I’ve settled in and found my legs. My training is semi complete, but they’ve already thrown me to the wolves, having me work solo manager shifts after about a week, which felt entirely too soon, but I survived.

Our move left us within a 5 minute drive of a BART train station, it’s still a 50ish minute ride from there, but so much better to me then even a 30 minute car ride (mostly). I get to kick back and watch TV shows on Netflix or hulu, or stuff I downloaded. I already caught up on the new series of Sherlock riding the train. Kinda nice. Not Sherlock. Sherlock was fraking amazing! It just leaves me constantly wishing that series was awesome. Totally looking forward to the US CBS remake…no not really! Shut up! Riding BART has been kinda nice. I don’t have to worry about falling asleep behind the wheel, that’s a huge plus. And so far writing this blog post on my Xoom has been nice.

At the moment I’m sitting on BART ridding in for my first of four training graveyard shifts this week. That’s something I’m not looking forward to, but I knew it was going to be a requirement when i took the job. I did one training night audit at my last job, I’m not afraid of the work, if anything at this job I’m looking forward to the potential for crazy guest stories I might get to live through, I’m just not looking forward to the hours. I love my sleep! More importantly I love sleeping next to my wife in our new king sized bed!

My fellow BART riders have been interesting at times. Things I’ve seen have included, a crazy lady screaming at the entire train in some Asian language and English curse words. A wandering street preacher guy walking down the train telling us damnation was coming to us all. And yesterday a four man team running a classic shell con game. I never knew that people still did that, I thought it was just a TV thing now. And what’s amazing is people fell for it! Really!? How is that still possible? Stupid. And St Patrick’s Day night was not a pretty sight. Drunk people everywhere.

Anyways, I hope to make blogging on my commute a more regular practice, since I never have time at work any more…and web filters to worry about. Thanks everyone!

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by mikemonaco on March 20, 2012 - 7:06 AM

    Glad your new job is working out! Congrats.

  2. #2 by confessionshotelmanager on March 21, 2012 - 4:13 PM

    I’ve always personally enjoyed working the audit shifts. It’s quiet, you can watch whatever you downloaded that week or read a really good book. and there is always room for the crazies to come out! Then again, I’d look forward to quiet right now…. It’s just been a constant GO! GO! GO! for me. And I just roll my eyes when my auditor tells me of his busy night…. 5 whole guests needed something after 11pm! Ha! I do need to make my auditors work a day shift….

  3. #3 by The Hook on September 2, 2012 - 12:56 PM

    Sorry I haven’t been around much lately, but my book, The Bellman Chronicles, will be FREE to download on Sept. 10 – 11! Check it out on my Amazon Kindle page.. You won’t be disappointed. And if you can slip me a review, I’d be forever grateful…

Leave a Reply

